NERSCPowering Scientific Discovery Since 1974

NUG Executive Committee (NUGEX)

 NUGEX is the voice of the user community to NERSC and DOE. While all NUG events are open to all NERSC users, NUGEX members regularly participate in the monthly teleconferences and the annual face-to-face meeting. NUGEX is consulted on many NERSC policy issues, e.g., batch configurations, disk quotas, services and training offerings.  Members of NUGEX also participate in their office's NERSC Requirements Reviews of High Performance Computing and Storage. There are three representatives from each office and three members-at-large.

Current Members

NameInstitution
Email Address
DOE OfficeTerm ExpiresPI's Project Title
Milan Curcic University of Miami
caomaco@gmail.com
ASCR Dec 2018 Quantification of Uncertainty in Extreme Scale Computations
Jeff Hammond Intel Inc.
jeff.science@gmail.com
Dec 2018 Massively Parallel Coupled Cluster Methods
Brian Van Straalen Berkeley Lab
BVStraalen@lbl.gov
Dec 2018 Chombo-Crunch: Advanced Simulation of Subsurface Flow and Reactive Transport Processes Associated with Carbon Sequestration
Samson Hagos PNNL
samson.hagos@pnl.gov
BER Dec 2018 Environmental Effects in the Lifecycle of Convective Clouds
Gary Strand NCAR
strandwg@ucar.edu
Dec 2018 Climate Change Simulations with CESM: Moderate and High Resolution Studies
David Wong U.S. EPA
wong.david-c@epa.gov
Dec 2018 Evaluation of the Interactions Among Tropospheric Aerosol Loading, Radiative Balance, Clouds, and Precipitation
Eric Bylaska PNNL
eric.bylaska@pnl.gov
BES Dec 2018 Actinide Oxidation States
Monojoy Goswami Oak Ridge
goswamim@ornl.gov
Dec 2018 Computational Resources for the Interpretation of Neutron Scattering Data from the Spallation Neutron Source and HFIR
Paul Kent Oak Ridge
kentpr@ornl.gov
Dec 2018 Nanomaterials Theory Institute at the Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences
Christopher Holland UC-San Diego
chholland@ucsd.edu
FES Dec 2017 Development and Validation of Plasma Turbulence Models
Nathan Howard MIT
nthoward@psfc.mit.edu

Dec 2018 Development and Validation of Plasma Turbulence Models
David Green Oak Ridge
greendl1@ornl.gov
Dec 2017 AToM SciDAC - Advanced Tokamak Modeling
Ted Kisner Berkeley Lab
tskisner@lbl.gov
HEP Dec 2017 Cosmic Microwave Background Data Analysis For The Planck Satellite Mission
Zarija Lukic Berkeley Lab
zarija@lbl.gov
Dec 2017 Simulating Cosmological Lyman-alpha Forest
Frank Tsung - Chair UCLA
tsung@physics.ucla.edu
Dec 2017 Continuing Studies of Plasma Based Accelerators
Balint Joo Jefferson Lab
bjoo@jlab.org
NP Dec 2017 Modernizing the Chroma LQCD Code for calculations of Hadron Spectroscopy in Nuclear Physics on Cori
Michael Zingale Stony Brook University
Michael.Zingale@stonybrook.edu
Dec 2018 Three-dimensional Studies of Convection in X-ray Bursts
Nicolas Schunck Livermore Lab
schunck1@llnl.gov
Dec 2017 Nuclear Computational Low-Energy Initiative (NUCLEI) SciDAC-3 project
Carlo Benedetti Berkeley Lab
CBenedetti@lbl.gov
At Large Dec 2018 Simulation of Laser-Plasma Particle Accelerators
David Hatch University of Texas, Austin
drhatch@austin.utexas.edu
Dec 2018 Gyrokinetic Turbulence and Transport: From Basic Understanding to Truly Predictive Capability
James Amundson Fermilab
amundson@fnal.gov
Dec 2017 Community Petascale Project for Accelerator Science and Simulation - SciDAC3

Recent Members

Stephanie Ethier, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory, FES
Jean-Luc Vay, Berkeley Lab, FES 
Julian Borrill, Berkeley Lab, HEP 
Steven Gottlieb, Indiana University, HEP 
Daniel Kasen, Berkeley Lab, NP 
Martin Savage, University of Washington, NP 
Gregory Newman, Berkeley Lab, At-Large 

NUGEX 2014 Meeting Planning Subcommittee

Members Frank Tsung, UCLA (HEP/FES) Gary Grest, Sandia… Read More »

NUGEX Queue Subcommittee

Members Anubhav Jain, Berkeley Lab (BES) Stephen Bailey, Berkeley Lab (HEP) Adrianne Middleton, NCAR (BER) Paul Kent, ORNL… Read More »