NERSCPowering Scientific Discovery Since 1974

NUG Executive Committee (NUGEX)

 NUGEX is the voice of the user community to NERSC and DOE. While all NUG events are open to all NERSC users, NUGEX members regularly participate in the monthly teleconfernces and the annual face-to-face meeting. NUGEX is consulted on many NERSC policy issues, e.g., batch configurations, disk quotas, services and training offerings.  Members of NUGEX also participate in their office's NERSC Requirements Reviews of High Performance Computing and Storage. There are three representatives from each office and three members-at-large.

Current Members

NameInstitution
Email Address
DOE OfficeTerm ExpiresPI's Project Title
Mark Adams Berkeley Lab
mfadams@lbl.gov
ASCR Dec 2015 Composable Hierarchically Nested Solvers
Anubhav Jain - Vice-Chair Berkeley Lab
ajain@lbl.gov
Dec 2015 The Materials Genome
Vadim Roytershteyn SciberQuest, Inc.
vroytersh@gmail.com
Dec 2015 Kinetic Simulations in Laboratory and Space Plasmas
Thomas Bettge NCAR
bettge@ucar.edu
BER Dec 2015 Climate Change Simulations with CESM
Rudesh Toofanny University of Waskington
rudesh@uw.edu
Dec 2015 Molecular Dynameomics
Guishan Zheng Harvard University
guishan.zheng@gmail.com
Dec 2015 Molecular Simulations of Biological Processes
Eric Bylaska PNNL
eric.bylaska@pnl.gov
BES Dec 2015 Actinide Oxidation States
Gary Grest Sandia Lab
gsgrest@sandia.gov
Dec 2015 Controlling Nanoparticle Interadtions to Engineer New Materials
Paul Kent Oak Ridge
kentpr@ornl.gov
Dec 2015 Nanomaterials Theory Institute at the Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences
Christopher Holland UC-San Diego
chholland@ucsd.edu
FES Dec 2017 Development and Validation of Plasma Turbulence Models
Linda Sugiyama MIT
sugiyama@mit.edu
Dec 2015 3D Extended MHD simulation of fusion plasmas
David Green Oak Ridge
greendl1@ornl.gov
Dec 2017 AToM SciDAC - Advanced Tokamak Modeling
Ted Kisner Berkeley Lab
tskisner@lbl.gov
HEP Dec 2017 Cosmic Microwave Background Data Analysis For The Planck Satellite Mission
Zarija Lukic Berkeley Lab
zarija@lbl.gov
Dec 2017 Simulating Cosmological Lyman-alpha Forest
Frank Tsung - Chair UCLA
tsung@physics.ucla.edu
Dec 2017 Continuing Studies of Plasma Based Accelerators
Balint Joo Jefferson Lab
bjoo@jlab.org
NP Dec 2017 Modernizing the Chroma LQCD Code for calculations of Hadron Spectroscopy in Nuclear Physics on Cori
Tomasz Plewa Florida State University
tplewa@fsu.edu
Dec 2015 Supernova Explosions in Three Dimensions
Nicolas Schunck Livermore Lab
schunck1@llnl.gov
Dec 2017 Nuclear Computational Low-Energy Initiative (NUCLEI) SciDAC-3 project
Cameron Geddes Berkeley Lab
cgrgeddes@lbl.gov
At Large Dec 2015 Simulation of Laser-Plasma Particle Accelerators
Konstantin Kemenov CRAFT Tech
kkemenov@craft-tech.com
Dec 2015 Sub-Grid Scale Combustion Modeling for Gas Turbines
James Amundson Fermilab
amundson@fnal.gov
Dec 2017 Community Petascale Project for Accelerator Science and Simulation - SciDAC3

Recent Members

Stephanie Ethier, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory, FES
Jean-Luc Vay, Berkeley Lab, FES 
Julian Borrill, Berkeley Lab, HEP 
Steven Gottlieb, Indiana Universitiy, HEP 
Daniel Kasen, Berkeley Lab, NP 
Martin Savage, University of Washington, NP 
Gregory Newman, Berkeley Lab, At-Large 

NUGEX 2014 Meeting Planning Subcommittee

Members Frank Tsung, UCLA (HEP/FES) Gary Grest, Sandia… Read More »

NUGEX Queue Subcommittee

Members Anubhav Jain, Berkeley Lab (BES) Stephen Bailey, Berkeley Lab (HEP) Adrianne Middleton, NCAR (BER) Paul Kent, ORNL… Read More »