NERSCPowering Scientific Discovery Since 1974

NUG Executive Committee (NUGEX)

 NUGEX is the voice of the user community to NERSC and DOE. While all NUG events are open to all NERSC users, NUGEX members regularly participate in the monthly teleconferences and the annual face-to-face meeting. NUGEX is consulted on many NERSC policy issues, e.g., batch configurations, disk quotas, services and training offerings.  Members of NUGEX also participate in their office's NERSC Requirements Reviews of High Performance Computing and Storage. There are three representatives from each office and three members-at-large.

Current Members

NameInstitution
Email Address
DOE OfficeTerm ExpiresPI's Project Title
Milan Curcic University of Miami
caomaco@gmail.com
ASCR Dec 2018 Quantification of Uncertainty in Extreme Scale Computations
Jeff Hammond Intel Inc.
jeff.science@gmail.com
Dec 2018 Massively Parallel Coupled Cluster Methods
Brian Van Straalen Berkeley Lab
BVStraalen@lbl.gov
Dec 2018 Chombo-Crunch: Advanced Simulation of Subsurface Flow and Reactive Transport Processes Associated with Carbon Sequestration
Samson Hagos PNNL
samson.hagos@pnl.gov
BER Dec 2018 Environmental Effects in the Lifecycle of Convective Clouds
Gary Strand NCAR
strandwg@ucar.edu
Dec 2018 Climate Change Simulations with CESM: Moderate and High Resolution Studies
David Wong U.S. EPA
wong.david-c@epa.gov
Dec 2018 Evaluation of the Interactions Among Tropospheric Aerosol Loading, Radiative Balance, Clouds, and Precipitation
Eric Bylaska PNNL
eric.bylaska@pnl.gov
BES Dec 2018 Actinide Oxidation States
Monojoy Goswami Oak Ridge
goswamim@ornl.gov
Dec 2018 Computational Resources for the Interpretation of Neutron Scattering Data from the Spallation Neutron Source and HFIR
Paul Kent Oak Ridge
kentpr@ornl.gov
Dec 2018 Nanomaterials Theory Institute at the Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences
Christopher Holland UC-San Diego
chholland@ucsd.edu
FES Dec 2020 Development and Validation of Plasma Turbulence Models
Nathan Howard MIT
nthoward@psfc.mit.edu

Dec 2018 Development and Validation of Plasma Turbulence Models
Orso Meneghini General Atomics
meneghini@fusion.gat.com
Dec 2020 Integrated Modeling and Development of Reduced Models with Machine Learning
James Amundson Fermilab
amundson@fnal.gov
HEP Dec 2020 Community Project for Accelerator Science and Simulation 4 (ComPASS4)
Weiming An UCLA
anweiming@ucla.edu
Dec 2020 Continuing Studies of Plasma Based Accelerators
Zarija Lukic Berkeley Lab
zarija@lbl.gov
Dec 2020 Large-Scale Structure of the Universe
Balint Joo Jefferson Lab
bjoo@jlab.org
NP Dec 2020 Resonance Properties in the Decay Signatures of Exotic Mesons from Quantum Chromodynamics
David J. Tedeschi Berkeley Lab
tedeschi@lbl.gov
Dec 2020 The Majorana Demonstrator - A Search for Neutrinoless Double Beta Decay
Michael Zingale Stony Brook University
Michael.Zingale@stonybrook.edu
Dec 2018 Three-dimensional Studies of Convection in X-ray Bursts
Carlo Benedetti Berkeley Lab
CBenedetti@lbl.gov
At Large Dec 2018 Simulation of Laser-Plasma Particle Accelerators
David Hatch University of Texas, Austin
drhatch@austin.utexas.edu
Dec 2018 Gyrokinetic Turbulence and Transport: From Basic Understanding to Truly Predictive Capability
Pieter Maris Iowa State University
pmaris@iastate.edu
Dec 2020 Structure and Reactions of Hadrons and Nuclei

Recent Members

Christopher Holland, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory, FES
Orso Meneghini, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory, FES 
James Amundson, Fermilab, HEP 
Weiming An, UCLA, HEP 
Zarija Lukic, Berkeley Lab, HEP 
Baliant Joo, Jefferson Lab, NP 
David J. Tedeschi, University of South Carolina, NP 
Pieter Maris, Iowa State University, At-Large