NERSCPowering Scientific Discovery Since 1974

Department of Energy Science Offices, Programs and Allocation Managers

NERSC is overseen by the DOE NERSC Program Manager, Dave Goodwin (Dave.Goodwin@science.doe.gov; 301-903-6474). He is assisted by the DOE Allocation Managers in each of the six offices. They are listed in the table below.

The DOE Allocation Managers are responsible for managing the NERSC allocations. To find your Allocation Manager, check under the Office and Program which sponsors your work, locate your DOE Program Manager, and find the corresponding Allocation Manager. You should contact your Allocation Manager with questions concerning your allocation at NERSC.

NERSC manages Startup, Education, NISE and Data Pilot allocations.

Advanced Scientific Computing Research (ASCR)

ASCR web pages

DOE OfficeDOE ProgramDOE Program ManagersAllocation Managers
ASCR
SC-21
NERSC Program Manager   Dave Goodwin
301-903-6474
Dave.Goodwin@science.doe.gov
Advanced Scientific Computing (SC-21) Rich Carlson
Christine Chalk
Vince Dattoria
Dave Goodwin
William Harrod
Barb Helland
Sandy Landsberg
Randall Laviolette
Steven Lee
Robery Lindsay
Thomas Ndousse-Fetter
Lucy Nowell
Karen Pao
Betsy Riley
Sonia Sachs
Julie Scott
Ceren Susut-Bennett

Karen Pao
301-903-5384
karen.pao@science.doe.gov

Biological and Environmental Research (BER)

BER web pages

DOE OfficeDOE ProgramDOE Program ManagersAllocation Managers
BER
SC-23
Climate and Environmental
Sciences Division
SC-23.1
Paul Bayer
Wanda Ferrell
Gary Geernaert
Renu Joseph
Dorothy Koch
Michael Kuperberg
David Lesmes
Sally McFarlane
Rickey Petty
Daniel Stover
Bob Vallario
Ashley Williamson

Dorothy Koch
301-903-0105
Dorothy.Koch@science.doe.gov

Renu Joseph
301-903-9237
Renu.Joseph@science.doe.gov

Biological Systems
Science Division
SC-23.2
Todd Anderson
Dean Cole
Daniel Drell
Joseph Graber
Roland Hirsch
Noelle Metting
Kent Peters
Pablo Rabinowicz
Cathy Ronning
Prem Srivastava
Libby White
Pablo Rabinowicz
301-903-0379
Pablo.Rabinowicz@science.doe.gov

Basic Energy Sciences (BES)

BES web pages

DOE OfficeDOE ProgramDOE Program ManagersAllocation Managers
BES
SC-22
Chemical Sciences
SC-22.1
Michael Casassa
Christopher Fecko
Greg Fiechtner
Jeff Krause
Paul Maupin
Gail McLean
John Miller
Raul Miranda
Mark Pederson
Larry Rahn
Eric Rohlfing
Margaret Ryan
Wade Sisk
Mark Spitler
Robert Stack
Philip Wilk
Mark Pederson
301-903-9956
Mark.Pederson@science.doe.gov
Geosciences Research
SC-22.1
Nick Woodward Nick Woodward
301-903-4061
Nick.Woodward@science.doe.gov
Materials Sciences and Engineering
SC-22.2
Jim Davenport
Tim Fitzsimmons
Bonnie Gersten
Craig Henderson
Linda Horton
James Horwitz
Helen Kerch
Aravind Kini
Refik Kortan
Mike Markowitz
Andrew Schwartz
Michael Sennett
Thiyaga Thiyagarajan
John Ventrano
Lane Wilson
Jane Zhu
Jim Davenport
301-903-0035
James.Davenport@science.doe.gov
Scientific User Facilities
SC-22.3
Tof Carim
Harriet Kung
Peter Lee
Eliane Lessner
George Maracas
James Murphy
Van Nguyen
James Rhyne
Van Nguyen
301-903-3976
van.nguyen@science.doe.gov

Fusion Energy Sciences (FES)

FES web pages

DOE OfficeDOE ProgramDOE Program ManagersAllocation Manager
FES
SC-24
Fusion Energy Sciences Sam Barish
Curt Bolton
Steve Eckstrand
Sean Finnegan
Mark Foster
John Glowienka
John Mandrekas
Joseph may
Gene Nardella
Al Opdenaker
Peter Pappano
Nirmol Podder
Ann Satsangi
Edward Stevens
Barry Sullivan
Edmund Synakowski
Francis Thio
Jim Van Dam
Tom Vanek
John Mandrekas
301-903-0552
john.mandrekas@science.doe.gov

High Energy Physics (HEP)

HEP web pages

DOE OfficeDOE ProgramDOE Program ManagersAllocation Manager
HEP
SC-25
High Energy Physics
Research and
Technology Division
David Boehnlein
Lali Chatterjee
Glen Crawford
Phil Debenham
Saul Gonzalez
John Kogut
Ted Lavine
L. K. Len
Ken Marken
Helmut Marsiske
Abid Patwa
Mike Procario
Simona Rolli
Michael Salamon
Jim Siegrist
Bruce Strauss
Alan Stone
James Stone
Kathy Turner
Lali Chatterjee
301-903-0435
Lali.Chatterjee@science.doe.gov

Nuclear Physics (NP)

NP web pages

DOE OfficeDOE ProgramDOE Program ManagersAllocation Manager
NP
SC-26
Nuclear Physics Research
SC-26.1
Cyrus Baktash
Ted Barnes
George Fai
Manouchehr Farkhondeh
Marc Garland
Jehanne Gillo
Joel Grimm
Timothy Hallman
James Hawkins
Dennis Phillips
Gulshan Rai
Jim Sowinski
Ted Barnes
301-903-3212
ted.barnes@science.doe.gov

Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR)

SBIR web pages

DOE OfficeDOE ProgramDOE Program ManagersAllocation Manager
SBIR
SC-29
Small Business Innovation Research Chris O'Gwin
Manny Oliver
Chris O'Gwin
301-903-5713
chris.ogwin@science.doe.gov

DOE ALCC Awards

Award ProgramAllocation Manager
ASCR Leadership
Computing Challenge
Carolyn Lauzon
443-226-6226
carolyn.lauzon@science.doe.gov

NERSC Startup, Education, and Director Reserve Awards

Award ProgramAllocation Managers
NERSC Startup, Education
 and Director Reserve Awards

NERSC Allocattions
allocations@nersc.gov