NERSCPowering Scientific Discovery Since 1974

NERSC Science Engagements

At NERSC, science comes first. NERSC systems and services are designed to enable and support cutting-edge research within the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Science. NERSC engages with the scientific community in many ways both formally and informally. Among the more formal mechanisms are the NERSC Requirements Reviews, which have now become the DOE Exascale Requirements Reviews jointly with the Argonne and Oak Ridge Leadership Computing facilities, regular meetings with the NERSC Users Group, the NERSC Exascale Application Readiness Program (NESAP), numerous training events, and participation in topical scientific conferences. NERSC is particularly proud of the nearly 2,000 scientific papers about 20 cover articles published each year in referred scientific journals based on work performed at NERSC. 

Research performed using NERSC resources is focused in the key areas of interest to the Office of Science, which is divided into six program offices.

Program OfficeAcronymPrimary Scientific Disciplines
Advanced Scientific Computing Research ASCR Computer Science, Applied Mathematics, HPC Facilites
Basic Energy Sciences BES Materials Science, Chemistry, Geophysics, Accelerator Physics
Biological and Environmental Research BER Climate, Biosciences
Fusion Energy Sciences FES Fusion Energy, Plasma Physics
High Energy Physics HEP Particle Physics, Astrophysics, Accelerator Physics
Nuclear Physics NP Nuclear Structure

NERSC Scientific Engagement Leads

NERSC supports all its users through HPC consulting services, training, its web site, etc. In addition, certain NERSC staff members serve as scientific outreach liaisons with scientific communities, DOE managers, and Berkeley Lab communications staff. These liaisons help NERSC better understand the needs of science teams and serve as general points of contact for scientific communities. They also help communicate to DOE, the public, and within NERSC the scientific results derived from the use of NERSC systems and services. In conjunction with key members of the NERSC user community and DOE program managers the NERSC science liaisons form the nucleus of science-based support services at NERSC.

Science AreaNERSC Liaison(s)Email
 Accelerator Science  Alice Koniges, Ph.D., Mathematical Astrophysics  AEKoniges@lbl.gov
 Applied Mathematics Kjiersten Fagnan, Ph.D., Applied Mathematics KMFagnan@lbl.gov
 Astrophysics / Cosmology  Richard Gerber, Ph.D., Physics (Astrophysics); Brian Friesen, Ph.D., Astrophysics; Debbie Bard, Ph.D., Elementary Particle Physics; Rollin Thomas, Ph.D., Astrophysics  RAGerber@lbl.gov, BFriesen@lbl.gov, DJBard@lbl.gov,
RCThomas@lbl.gov
 Biosciences  Kjiersten Fagnan, Ph.D., Applied Mathematics  KMFagnan@lbl.gov
 BES Experimental Facilities David Skinner, Ph.D., Chemistry  DESkinner@lbl.gov
 Chemistry  Brian Austin, Ph.D., Chemistry; Taylor Barnes, Ph.D., Chemistry BAustin@lbl.gov
 Climate & Environment  Prabhat, M.S., Computer Science; Helen He, Ph.D., Marine Studies  Prabhat@lbl.gov, YHe@lbl.gov
 Computer Science Andrey 

Ovsyannikov, Ph.D., Fluid Mechanics; Rebecca Hartman-Baker, Ph.D., Computer Science

 aovsyannikov@lbl.gov,  RJHartmanbaker@lbl.gov
 Combustion Ankit Bagatwala, Ph.D., Aeronautics and Astronautics  ABhagatwala@lbl.gov
 Fusion Energy  Alice Koniges, Ph.D., Mathematical Astrophysics  AEKoniges@lbl.gov
 Geoscience Woo-Sun Yang, Ph.D., Geophysics  WYang@lbl.gov 
 HEP/NP Experiment  Debbie Bard, Ph.D., Elementary Particle Physics; Lisa Gerhardt, Ph.D., Physics  DJbard@lbl.gov, LGerhardt@lbl.gov
 HEP Theory (LQCD & Pert. QCD)  Richard Gerber, Ph.D. Physics  RAGerber@lbl.gov
 Materials Science  Jack Deslippe, Ph.D., Materials Science; Zhengji Zhao, Computational Physics  JRDeslippe@lbl.gov
 Nuclear Physics  Rebecca Hartman-Baker, Ph.D., Computer Science  RJHartmanbaker@lbl.gov