NERSCPowering Scientific Discovery Since 1974

Design Forward July 22-24, 2014

A semi-annual meeting for the Design Forward initiative will be held at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory on July 22-24, 2014. Under the initiative, AMD, Cray, IBM, Intel Federal and NVIDIA will work to advance extreme-scale computing technology on the path to exascale.

Laboratory and industry contacts for Design Forward are listed below. Persons interested in collaborating on a specific project should contact the laboratory leads.

»Read more about the official Design Forward announcement.

Design Forward Techical Representatives

AMD

Parks Fields, parks@lanl.gov
Jonathan Carter, jtcarter@lbl.gov

Cray

Scott Hemmert, kshemme@sandia.gov
Paul Hargrove, phhargrove@lbl.gov

IBM

Darren Kerbyson, Darren.Kerbyson@pnnl.gov
Nick Wright, njwright@lbl.gov

Intel

David Bernholdt, bernholdtde@ornl.gov
Jeff Broughton, jbroughton@lbl.gov

NVIDIA

Rajeev Thakur, thakur@mcs.anl.gov
John Shalf, jshalf@lbl.gov

Design Forward Vendor Reps

AMD

Jay Owen, jay.owen@amd.com
Steve Reinhardt, Steve.Reinhardt@amd.com

Cray

Gary Geissler, gjg@cray.com
Charlie Carroll, charliec@cray.com
Larry Kaplan, lkaplan@cray.com

IBM

Ed Taylor, cetaylor@us.ibm.com
Philip Heidelberger, philiph@us.ibm.com
Marc Taubenblatt, tauben@us.ibm.com

Intel

Ron Kern, ronald.kern@intel.com
Shekhar Borkar, shekhar.y.borkar@intel.com

NVIDIA

Larry Dennison, ldennison@nvidia.com
Sylvia Chanak, schanak@nvidia.com

AGENDA

Tuesday, July 22

8:00 AM - 12:00 PM: IBM
1:00 PM - 5:00 PM: NVIDIA

Wednesday, July 23

8:00 AM - 12:00 PM: Cray
1:00 PM - 5:00 PM: AMD

Thursday, July 24

8:00 AM - 12:00 PM: Intel
1:00 PM - 2:30PM: DOE Open Wrap Up
2:30PM - 4:00 PM: Design Forward Technical Reps Wrap Up

Venue

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
1 Cyclotron Road
66 Auditorium
Berkeley, CA 94720
Tel: 510.486.4000
http://www.lbl.gov/

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory is a multidisciplinary national laboratory located in Berkeley, California on a hillside directly above the campus of the University of California at Berkeley. The site consists of 76 buildings located on 183 acres, which overlook both the campus and the San Francisco Bay. »More Visitor Information.

Site Access

All non-LBNL emplyees attending must obtain a visitor bus pass or a visitor parking pass in advance.  This applies whether you are taking the shuttle or driving.  Check-in with Security and picture ID is required.  LBNL Security requires the names and citizenship of all visitors Please e-mail Zaida McCunney by July 14, 2014.

The Strawberry Canyon entrance is closest to the 66 Auditorium. The shuttle buses stop at the 66 auditorium.

»LBNL Printable Map

»LBNL Interactive Map

Parking

Parking at LBNL is limited due to a number of construction projects. We recommend car pooling, LBNL shuttle, or taxi. If you drive, a parking space may be reserved.  For those visitors who plan to drive to LBNL, we will reserve general parking at or near the 66 auditorium.

Shuttle Information

There is a Lab shuttle bus from various locations around the City of Berkeley, including near the Downtown Berkeley BART station.  If you plan to take the LBNL shuttle, you are required to have an LBNL Visitor Bus Pass  (requires advance notice) and picture ID to show the bus driver. 

Bay Area Rapid Transit Train (BART)

The Downtown Berkeley BART station is two short blocks from the LBNL shuttle line on the corner of Addison and Shuttuck.  The LBNL Orange Shuttle Bus will take you to the Strawberry Canyon entrance and the 66 auditorium.

»BART Web site

Lodging

LBNL Guest House
1 Cyclotron Road
Berkeley, CA 94720
510.495.8000
Rate: $112
http://www.berkeleylabguesthouse.berkeley.edu/

Hotel Shattuck
2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704
Tel: 510.845.7300
Rate: $129 (LBNL rate)
http://www.hotelshattuckplaza.com/
(One short block from the Downtown Berkeley BART station)

Claremont Hotel
41 Tunnel Rd, Berkeley, CA 94705
Tel: 510.843-3000
Rate: $115 (LBNL rate)
http://www.claremontresort.com/

Doubletree Berkeley Marina Hotel
200 Marina Blvd, Berkeley, CA 94710
Tel: 510.548.7920
Rate: $139 (available rate)
http://www.doubletreeberkeleymarina.com/

Power

The 66 Auditorium does not have enough power/circuits to charge laptops.  There will be charging stations in the rear of the auditorium and 66-316 conference room.

Registration

Registration provides site access and the $79.75 registration fee will provide AM refreshments and lunch on July 22-24. 

Vendors are not required to register.  Please confirm your attendance via e-mail to Lynn Rippe.

Registration deadline is July 14, 2014. 

https://www.regonline.com/designforwardmeeting

Remote Participants

A Webex conference has been scheduled for the five vendor sessions.   Please go to nersc.webex.com, browse the list of conferences, and enter the password for the conference.  Lynn Rippe will provide the webex passwords.  Vendors should provide their own teleconference numbers to Lynn Rippe.

Meeting Logistics

Zaida McCunney
zsmccunney@lbl.gov
Tel: 510.486.6247
Cell: 510.910.0520